Colorado Connector Offers Alternative Route to Passenger Rail Expansion
Article Summary
Source-basedDate: 28 October 2026 — Place: Colorado Front Range (Fort Collins–Pueblo). This RailZoom Intelligence Brief summarises a proposal known as the Colorado Connector (CoCo), reported by Railway News, which is submitting Ballot Issue 7A to voters in the Front Range Passenger Rail District on 3 November 2026. The measure would establish a 0.333% sales and use tax and authorise up to 580 million USD in debt (785 million USD stated repayment cost) to support phased expansion of conventional intercity passenger rail using existing freight-owned infrastructure.
According to James Flattum, director of outreach for the Coloradans for CoCo campaign, the plan targets an approximately 190-mile corridor linking Fort Collins, Boulder, Denver, Colorado Springs and Pueblo, where about 85% of Colorado’s population lives. A starter service — advanced through a partnership involving the Colorado Department of Transportation and the Regional Transportation District (RTD) — is planned to begin in 2029 with three daily round trips between Fort Collins and Denver. CoCo would operate initial services at a maximum speed of 79 mph (127 km/h), employ dual-mode rolling stock, and rely on negotiated access and paid slot agreements with freight owners BNSF Railway and Union Pacific to add capacity and reliability incrementally.
RailZoom Intelligence Brief
Original synthesisLead
On 28 October 2026 Railway News reported that the Colorado Connector (CoCo) is heading to a public vote on 3 November 2026 as Ballot Issue 7A in the Front Range Passenger Rail District. The proposal would create a dedicated 0.333% sales and use tax and authorise up to 580 million USD in debt (with a stated repayment cost of 785 million USD) to fund a phased rollout of conventional intercity passenger rail between Fort Collins and Pueblo using primarily freight-owned lines.
Project facts
Project name: Colorado Connector (CoCo)
Location: Front Range corridor, approximately Fort Collins–Boulder–Denver–Colorado Springs–Pueblo (approx. 190 miles)
Owner: Not publicly disclosed
Timing: Starter service planned to begin in 2029; ballot vote 3 November 2026
Scope: Phased intercity passenger rail service; initial starter service Fort Collins–Denver (three daily round trips); planned expansion to eight daily round trips on southern section and ten on northern section; extension to Pueblo and station-area improvements including new Trinidad station for Southwest Chief users
Technical parameters: Initial maximum operating speed 79 mph (127 km/h); use of dual-mode rolling stock for non-electrified/electrified operation; investments focused on reliability, passing tracks, signalling and stations rather than high-speed infrastructure
Value and financing: Ballot proposes 0.333% sales and use tax; authorises up to 580 million USD in debt, with a repayment cost stated as 785 million USD; exemptions listed for certain goods (food, gasoline, residential electricity and gas, prescription drugs and medical supplies); no tax sunset specified
Source basis: Railway News report (secondary media)
Participants and responsibilities
Owner: Not publicly disclosed (Railway News).
Project proponents/campaign: Coloradans for CoCo; James Flattum identified as director of outreach and the primary public spokesperson in the reported webinar (Railway News; secondary media).
State and regional agencies: Colorado Department of Transportation and Regional Transportation District (RTD) described as partners advancing the starter service; scope includes delivering the starter three-round-trip service in 2029 (Railway News; secondary media).
Freight host railroads: BNSF Railway and Union Pacific engaged in discussions on infrastructure needs and access agreements to enable passenger slots and capacity improvements (Railway News; secondary media).
Operator/rolling stock: Not publicly disclosed; report states intention to use dual-mode rolling stock but does not identify suppliers or operating entity (Railway News).
Financing: Front Range Passenger Rail District (through Ballot Issue 7A) to collect tax revenue and authorise debt; further funding and debt repayment details not publicly disclosed beyond amounts in ballot language (Railway News).
Source confidence: Secondary media reporting of stakeholder statements; facts are sourced to the Railway News article and webinar statements attributed to James Flattum.
Contractor overview
No contractors, suppliers or rolling stock manufacturers are named in the Railway News report. The report identifies negotiation partners (BNSF Railway, Union Pacific), and public agencies (Colorado Department of Transportation, RTD) but does not disclose contractors, construction firms, train suppliers, design teams or operators. Source confidence: secondary media; party identities and roles are those reported by Railway News.
Commercial context
The ballot is presented as a financing decision for a developed proposal rather than a vote to begin planning. The reported strategy emphasises use of existing freight-owned tracks to reduce upfront capital costs and accelerate service start-up, while negotiating paid access agreements and slots with freight host railroads to secure reliable operations. The starter service planned for 2029 would demonstrate operational delivery before later phases (southward extension to Pueblo, increased frequencies, station improvements). The proposal intentionally targets conventional intercity operation at up to 79 mph and dual-mode traction as a pathway to lower emissions without corridor-wide electrification. The public vote will determine the district’s authority to collect the tax and issue the debt included in Ballot Issue 7A; the Railway News piece treats many operational and procurement details as subject to ongoing negotiation and not yet publicly disclosed.
Sources
https://railway-news.com/colorado-connector-offers-alternative-route-to-passenger-rail-expansion/ — Railway News (secondary media)
Disclosure
This RailZoom Intelligence Brief is an original synthesis based on the cited public source. Details not confirmed by a first-party announcement are identified as reported information. For overseas project development or industry intelligence cooperation, contact RailZoom.