On 26 October 2026, Railway News reported that the US Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) awarded the City of Columbia, Missouri, a 16.2 million USD grant under the Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) programme to modernise the municipally owned Columbia Terminal Railroad (COLT). The project will deploy two TugVolt autonomous railcars supplied by Intramotev on COLT’s 21.4-mile (34.4 km) line between Centralia and Columbia, and will fund track and infrastructure improvements under an FRA-approved test programme. Initial operations will emphasise remote switching at COLT’s Columbia terminal, progressing to autonomous freight services across the full line including public level crossings.
The project will introduce the technology in phases to generate safety and operational data intended to inform other US short-line railways; the report noted the US has more than 600 short-line railways. Both TugVolt railcars will be built at Intramotev’s St Louis, Missouri facility. The FRA’s award forms part of a broader $2.3+ billion package selecting 105 rail projects for federal support. Details not disclosed in the report include the owner designation beyond the City of Columbia as grant recipient, contractor values beyond the grant, and any additional financiers or equipment suppliers beyond Intramotev. The coverage cited is a secondary media report; company statements within the story are identified as reported by the company.
Lead
On 26 October 2026, Railway News reported that the US Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) awarded the City of Columbia, Missouri, a 16.2 million USD grant through the Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) programme to modernise the Columbia Terminal Railroad (COLT). The modernisation includes deployment of autonomous freight railcars developed by Intramotev on COLT’s 21.4-mile (34.4 km) line between Centralia and Columbia, phased under an FRA-approved test programme that begins with remote switching and progresses toward full-line autonomous operations including public level crossings.
Project facts
Project name: COLT autonomous freight rail test programme (name as reported)
Location: Columbia Terminal Railroad (COLT) 21.4-mile / 34.4 km line between Centralia and Columbia, Missouri, USA
Owner: Not publicly disclosed (City of Columbia is the grant recipient)
Timing: Reported 26 October 2026; phased deployment under an FRA-approved test programme (specific dates and milestones Not publicly disclosed)
Scope: Deployment of two TugVolt autonomous railcars; phased operations from remote switching at Columbia terminal to autonomous services across the full line including public level crossings; track and infrastructure improvements
Technical parameters: Two TugVolt autonomous railcars; line length 21.4 miles (34.4 km)
Value and financing: FRA CRISI grant 16.2 million USD; other financing Not publicly disclosed
Source basis: Railway News (secondary media)
Participants and responsibilities
Funder/Grantor: US Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) — awarded 16.2 million USD through the CRISI programme; source: Railway News (secondary)
Grant recipient / project lead: City of Columbia, Missouri — received the 16.2 million USD FRA grant to modernise COLT; source: Railway News (secondary)
Railway owner/operator: COLT (Columbia Terminal Railroad) — municipally owned short-line operated by Columbia City Utilities; scope: operation of the line and hosting the test programme; source: Railway News (secondary)
Technology supplier / partner: Intramotev — to act as the technology partner and deploy two TugVolt autonomous railcars; both units to be built at Intramotev’s St Louis, Missouri facility; scope: supply, deployment and technology partnership for autonomous railcars; source: Railway News (secondary)
Infrastructure works: Not publicly disclosed (track and infrastructure improvements are included in scope but contractors not identified)
Rolling stock manufacturing location: Intramotev’s St Louis, Missouri facility — site for building both TugVolt railcars; source: Railway News (secondary)
Other participants (design, systems integrator, civil contractors, financiers, operator staff contractors): Not publicly disclosed
Contractor overview
Intramotev — role: technology partner and supplier of two TugVolt autonomous railcars; scope: provide and deploy two TugVolt units, to be built in St Louis, Missouri; value: Not publicly disclosed beyond association with the 16.2 million USD FRA grant; source confidence: secondary media reporting
Other contractors (civil works, systems integration, rolling stock suppliers beyond Intramotev, consultants): Not publicly disclosed; source confidence: secondary
Commercial context
The FRA’s CRISI grant of 16.2 million USD is reported as part of a wider federal package that selected 105 rail projects to receive more than 2.3 billion USD in funding, indicating federal prioritisation of short-line and regional rail infrastructure projects in this funding round. The project is positioned as a phased test programme to generate safety and operational data for potential wider adoption by US short-line railways; the report noted there are more than 600 short-line railways in the US. The report identified COLT as a municipally owned short-line operated by Columbia City Utilities and described Intramotev as the supplier and technology partner; no further procurement details, contract values, delivery schedules, or additional suppliers were disclosed in the Railway News article.
Sources
https://railway-news.com/federal-grant-supports-autonomous-freight-rail-in-missouri/ — Railway News
Source organisation: Railway News (secondary media)
Disclosure
This RailZoom Intelligence Brief is an original synthesis based on the cited public source. Details not confirmed by a first-party announcement are identified as reported information. For overseas project development or industry intelligence cooperation, contact RailZoom.