On 27 October 2026 in Liverpool, Network Rail reported it is slightly more than halfway through a near four-week programme of upgrades to Victorian-era tunnels on the Merseyrail Northern Line. The project involves tunnel strengthening, waterproofing and modernisation of power control systems, and has required a full line closure between Hunts Cross and Liverpool Central that began on 11 October and is scheduled to end with normal services returning on the morning of 7 November. Network Rail said the investment totals £3.5 million and that a team of more than 50 workers has completed the midpoint of the works. Rail replacement buses have been provided during the closure.
The works are being delivered during an extended closure pattern that includes extended Sunday closures across both Merseyrail lines for power control upgrades. Network Rail and Merseyrail provided statements about passenger disruption and the expected reliability benefits; neither the project owner beyond Network Rail nor principal contractors, designers or suppliers are publicly disclosed in the report. The reporting organisation is Rail Business Daily; the article is presented as media coverage summarising Network Rail’s release and statements from Network Rail’s Liverpool Area Director and Merseyrail’s Chief Operating Officer.
Lead
27 October 2026, Liverpool — Network Rail has reported it is just over halfway through a near four-week upgrade programme focused on Victorian-era tunnels on the Merseyrail Northern Line. The closure began on Sunday 11 October and is scheduled to conclude with the return of normal train services on the morning of Saturday 7 November. Network Rail said the project comprises tunnel strengthening, waterproofing and modernisation of power control systems; the company stated the investment is £3.5 million and that a team of more than 50 workers is executing the works. Rail replacement buses are operating for affected passengers.
Project facts
Project name: Not publicly disclosed
Location: Liverpool, United Kingdom — Northern Line between Hunts Cross and Liverpool Central
Owner: Not publicly disclosed (Network Rail is the reporting organisation)
Timing: Closure began 11 October 2026; scheduled return to normal services on morning of 7 November 2026; the article reports the project is 17 days into a near four-week closure as of 27 October 2026
Scope: Tunnel strengthening and waterproofing of Victorian-era tunnels; modernisation of power control systems across both Merseyrail lines during extended Sunday closures
Technical parameters: Victorian-era tunnels; modernised power control systems; team of more than 50 workers
Value: £3.5 million (reported by Network Rail)
Financing: Not publicly disclosed
Participants and responsibilities
Owner: Not publicly disclosed. The article is based on a Network Rail release and contains Network Rail statements; project ownership is not explicitly stated in the report (source basis: media report of Network Rail statements).
Network manager / delivering organisation: Network Rail — reported as coordinating and executing the works, responsible for tunnel strengthening, waterproofing and power control modernisation; reported value £3.5 million; project milestone: 17 days into closure as of 27 October 2026 (source: Rail Business Daily reporting of Network Rail statements).
Operator: Merseyrail — reported as working with Network Rail to minimise passenger disruption and advising passengers to plan journeys; provided statements on customer communication and expected reliability benefits (source: Rail Business Daily reporting of Merseyrail statements).
Contractors / designers / suppliers: Not publicly disclosed in the cited article.
Transport mitigation: Rail replacement buses — provided during the closure to maintain passenger movement across the city region (source: Rail Business Daily).
Contractor overview
No contractors, designers or suppliers are named in the source material. Consequently, contractor entries are Not publicly disclosed and no scope, value or contract milestones are attributable from the cited article. Source confidence: secondary media report summarising Network Rail statements.
Commercial context
The cited report is a media account of a Network Rail announcement and related statements from Merseyrail on an in-service infrastructure intervention. The article identifies a £3.5 million capital investment and a planned full-line closure pattern to deliver structural tunnel and control-system works; it also notes use of extended Sunday closures on both Merseyrail lines to modernise power control systems. The report does not disclose procurement routes, contractor awards, financing arrangements or supplier identities. The lack of disclosed suppliers or contract values beyond the aggregate project cost constrains market implications to confirmation of active investment and short-term operational disruption rather than detailed opportunity signals for specific contractors or suppliers.
Sources
https://news.railbusinessdaily.com/network-rail-reaches-halfway-point-in-merseyrail-tunnel-upgrades/ — Rail Business Daily
Disclosure
This RailZoom Intelligence Brief is an original synthesis based on the cited public source. Details not confirmed by a first-party announcement are identified as reported information. For overseas project development or industry intelligence cooperation, contact RailZoom.