On 28 October 2026 near Urda in the province of Toledo, Spain, a collision between a Renfe AVE high-speed train and an Iryo service on the Madrid–Seville (Madrid–Andalusia) high-speed corridor resulted in multiple fatalities and injuries and led to an immediate suspension of services on the corridor. The collision occurred between Los Yébenes and Urda; both operators reported activating emergency and victim-assistance procedures and set up helplines for affected passengers and families. Iryo identified the involved service as train 6076, which departed Madrid at 07:54 with 147 passengers, three crew, a barista and a driver on board and said it was struck from behind by a Renfe Series 103 train at 08:48. Renfe confirmed its AVE service was the other train and said it had activated its crisis management team and its Plan for Assistance to Victims of Railway Accidents and their Families (PAVAFF).
Adif, the infrastructure manager, confirmed suspension of rail traffic on the Madrid–Andalusia high-speed line and established assistance points at major stations including Madrid-Puerta de Atocha Almudena Grandes, Seville-Santa Justa, Córdoba-Julio Anguita and Málaga-María Zambrano. Both operators and Adif said emergency services and relevant authorities are working to establish the circumstances of the collision. The cause remains under investigation. The reporting source is Railway News; the information below is drawn from that report and identified where the account is presented as operator statements or reported information.
Lead
On 28 October 2026 near Urda in the province of Toledo, Spain, a collision between a Renfe AVE high-speed train and an Iryo service on the Madrid–Seville route (part of the Madrid–Andalusia high-speed corridor) produced multiple fatalities and injuries and prompted suspension of services across the corridor. The incident occurred between Los Yébenes and Urda. Both operators, Renfe and Iryo, stated they had activated emergency procedures and victim assistance measures; Adif confirmed line suspension and establishment of passenger assistance points. Source: Railway News (secondary media reporting of operator and infrastructure-manager statements).
Project facts
- Project name: Not publicly disclosed (incident report: Renfe–Iryo collision, Madrid–Seville high-speed corridor)
- Location: Between Los Yébenes and Urda, province of Toledo, Spain
- Owner: Not publicly disclosed
- Timing: 28 October 2026; Iryo reported its train was struck at 08:48; Iryo service 6076 departed Madrid at 07:54; Renfe scheduled AVE departure from Madrid Puerta de Atocha at 08:00 (arrival Seville Santa Justa 10:39)
- Scope: Accident involving two passenger high-speed trains, resulting in multiple fatalities and injuries; suspension of services on the Madrid–Andalusia high-speed line; emergency and victim-assistance measures activated
- Technical parameters: Involved train types include Renfe Series 103 (as reported by Iryo) and an Iryo service with 147 passengers, three crew members, one barista and one driver on board; further technical details not publicly disclosed
- Value and financing: Not publicly disclosed
Participants and responsibilities
- Operators: Renfe — confirmed one of its AVE services (scheduled 08:00 from Madrid Puerta de Atocha to Seville Santa Justa) was involved; Renfe said fatalities and injuries occurred and that it activated its crisis management team and PAVAFF (Plan for Assistance to Victims of Railway Accidents and their Families); established a dedicated helpline (900 10 10 20). Source basis: Renfe statement reported by Railway News (secondary media). Confidence: secondary media.
- Operators: Iryo — confirmed service 6076 (Madrid to Seville), departed 07:54 with 147 passengers, three crew, a barista and a driver; reported its train was struck from behind at 08:48 by a Renfe Series 103 train; activated emergency procedures, set up a helpline (900 001 403), and announced free ticket changes and cancellations for affected journeys. Source basis: Iryo statement reported by Railway News (secondary media). Confidence: secondary media.
- Infrastructure manager: Adif — confirmed suspension of rail traffic on the Madrid–Andalusia high-speed line; said trains were held at stations along the corridor and assistance points were established at Madrid-Puerta de Atocha Almudena Grandes, Seville-Santa Justa, Córdoba-Julio Anguita and Málaga-María Zambrano; coordinating with operators and emergency services. Source basis: Adif statement reported by Railway News (secondary media). Confidence: secondary media.
- Emergency services and authorities: Responding on scene and investigating circumstances; specific agencies not named in the source. Source basis: Railway News reporting. Confidence: secondary media.
- Other suppliers/contractors mentioned in broader reporting: Indra — reported to carry out maintenance and support of systems and equipment at ADIF Traffic Regulation Centres across Spain (separate item in the same report). Salicru — reported to supply UPS and DC rectifier systems to Etihad Rail (separate item). These items are operational or contract reports included in the same source but are not directly linked to the collision response. Source basis: Railway News. Confidence: secondary media.
Contractor overview
- Indra: Role — maintenance and support of systems and equipment operating at ADIF Traffic Regulation Centres across Spain; scope and value: Not publicly disclosed in the collision report. Source confidence: secondary media (Railway News).
- Salicru: Role — supplier of UPS and DC rectifier systems to Etihad Rail (reported in the same source feed); scope and value: Not publicly disclosed. Source confidence: secondary media.
- Other contractors/suppliers: Not publicly disclosed for the collision response; investigation and recovery contractors not named in the source.
Commercial context
Reported actions have immediate operational and service impacts: suspension of high-speed services on the Madrid–Andalusia corridor and station-level assistance points established by Adif. Both operators activated customer assistance measures (helplines; Iryo offered free ticket changes and cancellations for affected journeys). The source does not provide details on insurance, liability, procurement of recovery services, or long-term operational consequences. No first-party accident-investigation report or regulator decision is cited in the source; the cause of the collision remains under investigation according to the operators and Adif as reported.
Sources
- https://railway-news.com/renfe-and-iryo-respond-to-fatal-train-collision-in-toledo/ — Railway News (secondary media)
Disclosure
This RailZoom Intelligence Brief is an original synthesis based on the cited public source. Details not confirmed by a first-party announcement are identified as reported information. For overseas project development or industry intelligence cooperation, contact RailZoom.